Friday, July 2, 2010

Xmarks 3.7 Released: Password Restore and More!

We're in the process of releasing version 3.7 of our Firefox add-on. If you haven't already received an update notification from Firefox, you will soon.

For most people, this should be a fairly uneventful update. But the new version does contain a raft of changes, and we wanted to highlight some of the more significant ones.

Update: If you're having problems logging in with this version and you have also installed NoScript, make sure that you have whitelisted xmarks.com.


  • Password Restore: We've supported bookmark restore for quite some time now, a feature that our users regularly tell us has saved their bacon after a hard-drive failure or other corruption. We now also support password restore, which we think will also prove indispensable if you experience an unfortunate data loss. The feature itself lives in My.Xmarks, and it works with this version of the Xmarks addon. You can find it in the Tools menu of My.Xmarks.

  • Authentication: The way we handled authentication previously caused inconvenience to users who either enable the Firefox Master Password or don't let Firefox store passwords. If you're one of these users, you know that automatic sync would trigger a password prompt the first time Xmarks synced after a browser restart. That's no longer the case. Once you log in, you should remain logged in; just remember to check the "Remember Me" box.

  • Suspend: For most users, Xmarks operates transparently in the background. For users with huge datasets and older computers with limited memory and CPU, that's not always the case. We've recently made improvements in Xmarks' efficiency, but now there's another option: if you log out (press the Log Out button the first page of the settings dialog), Xmarks will suspend automatic sync until you log in again or restart your browser. This can be handy when you're working on something else and don't want Xmarks to get in your way.

  • Detect Offline: If you're on a laptop with a wireless network connection, you know that your connection comes and goes depending on your location, or whether you're putting your laptop to sleep or waking it up. Previously, if your network was unavailable when Xmarks decided it was time to sync, you'd see an error in the status bar. Now, Xmarks will defer automatic sync requests until the network becomes available again.

  • Sync on Shutdown: Xmarks has always provided the option to sync your data when the browser is shutting down to ensure that any recent changes you've made are available to other browsers and computers that you use. Previously, if Xmarks had any changes to sync, it would sync every datatype that you had enabled: bookmarks, passwords, and tabs. Now it syncs only what's necessary, making shutdown substantially faster.

  • And more! There is a handful of other minor changes and improvements, ranging from password-sync bug fixes to the ability to cancel an in-progress automatic sync. We hope you enjoy the new version and (if you celebrate it) have a great Independence Day.